Museum of The Academy of Fine Arts

MUSEUM OF THE ACADEMY OF FINE ARTS

Posted on Posted in other museum

fine arts

 

fine arts

The Fine Arts Academy “Pietro Vannucci” of Perugia was founded in 1573, as Picture Academy, second only to the florentine (1562). After fluctuating events, from 1901 the Academy has occupied the former convent of S. Francesco al Prato (nearby the renowned S. Bernardino Oratory by Agostino di Duccio), where in 1974 precious and unique art collections took shape and form, today set into three sections: the Gipsoteca (gallery of plasters), the Paintings Gallery, the Gabinetto of drawings and engravings. The valuable artistic heritage, enriched over the centuries, is not only the result of donations from Institutions and private, but mostly from works of academics who, as students, lecturers or collectors, wanted to leave a tangible sign about their affection to the “colours” of school. Among plasters, remarkable for workmanship and variety, stand out the huge Ercole Farnese, the Damòsseno boxer, Cupid and Psyche and the Three Graces by Antonio Canova, original copy donated by the artist, the Lacoonte, The Pastorello by Bertel Thorvaldsen. Among paintings stand out the Self-portrait with parrot by Mariano Guardabassi and pictures by Annibale Brugnoli, Domenico Bruschi, Armando Spadini, Mario Mafai, Alberto Burri, Gerardo Dottori.

 

Piazza San Francesco al Prato, 5

199 151 123

www.museoabaperugia.com

 

Reduced Admission 3,00 €

 

OPENING HOURS:
Info 199 151 123